International Municipal Signal Association
Section 2.0 Renewal Process

2.1 All current certification certificates are valid for a three (3) year period from date of issue. The
expiration date of all current certifications can be found on the certificate(s) and certification card(s).
2.2 Options for Renewal. There are three options for renewal of IMSA certifications.
Individuals may choose any one of the options. The renewal requirements must be completed prior to the expiration
date of the individual’s current certification(s).

A. Educational Units
1. College/Technical/Vocational course work for minimum one (1) quarter or one (1)
semester with a ‘C’ or higher passing grade. The course work must be directly related
to the certification(s) being renewed.
2. Continuing Education Units (CEU). The training must be directly related to the
certification(s) being renewed.
3. Continuing Education Credits (CECs). Your Section Certification
Chair or a CEC representative gathers and submits these earned points on your behalf,
to the International Office for logging in a database. Individuals should also record these
points on their personal logs.
4. Renewal Hours by Personal Log (Members and/or Non-Members). Individuals must
complete a personal log or diary of their continuing education by documenting training
and/or certification(s) received. The training must be directly related to the
certification(s) being renewed. For the training to be valid it must be signed by one of the
following: the speaker of a session, moderator of a class, supervisor or your IMSA
Section Certification Chair. Personal logs may be downloaded from the IMSA Web site
5. Combination of 2, 3 & 4 above. For example: A combination of CEUs and CECs
may qualify an individual for certification renewal.
All educational units must be completed within the three (3) years prior to the certification(s)
expiration date(s). All training documentation is subject to audit by IMSA’s International Office.
Each IMSA certification has a defined number of required educational hours based on the level
and type of certificate as follows:
Traffic Signals, Signs and Markings, Roadway Lighting, Fire Alarm, and Public Safety
Telecommunicator require a total of sixteen (16) hours of education. Work Zone Safety requires
a total of four (4) hours of education.
Sixteen hours is defined as 1.6 CEUs, or 64 CECs or 16 renewal hours.
Four hours is defined as  4 CEUs or 16 CECs or 4 renewal hours.

B. Attending the Current Certification Course This option requires the individual to attend
the current 16-hour certification course without taking the exam. Individuals will be
responsible for documenting their attendance in their Personal Log and shall have it signed
AUDITED. You may ONLY use this option within “one year” prior to the expiration
date. Please note: Traffic Signal III and Signs & Marking III courses will only count as 8
hours of training (16-hours of training is needed to complete the renewal process for these
Level III programs.)

CHigher Certification Level Achieving the next higher certification level in each specialty,
will result in a new three year certification; therefore, renewal of your existing certification
will not be necessary. For example: An individual with a current Traffic Signal Level I
certification who passes the Traffic Signal Level II certification course will receive a new
certification level which will be due for renewal three years from the date printed on the
new certification.
2.3 Documentation. It is the certificate holder’s responsibility to submit documentation to the IMSA
International office for renewal utilizing “Educational Units” including CECs and Personal
Log/Diaries. All required documentation and the appropriate fees shall be sent in one mailing to
IMSA prior to expiration date.
2.4 Renewal After Expiration. For individuals with an expiration date on their certificate(s), if the
certification is not renewed by the expiration date, the certification will lapse. The lapsed
certificate holder will have one (1) year after the expiration date to reinstate their certification by
documenting sixteen (16) hours of training through 2.2A or 2.2B. If the certification is not
reinstated within one (1) year after the expiration date, the individual must renew through the
normal certification process by taking the current certification exam at the highest level previously
attained and paying the regular certification exam fee. The renewal fees do not apply to this
method of certification; only the regular certification exam fees will be due. Retake of prerequisites
will not be required. IMSA will not recognize any IMSA certificate(s) without an expiration date.
For those individuals without an expiration date on their certificate (s), they will need to follow the
first renewal steps by submitting a Letter of Confirmation and renewal fee to the International
office as outlined in Section 1.0 in the policy.

Renewal Fee Schedule
1 Renewal $40.00 1 Renewal $60.00
2 Renewals 70.00 2 Renewals 90.00
3 Renewals 90.00 3 Renewals 110.00
4 or More Renewals 100.00 4 or More Renewals 120.00

The renewal fee schedule is based on an individual’s certification, not an agency/employer group rate.
If you are not a member of IMSA and would like to receive the discounted member rate, please visit
our website at: http://www.imsasafety.org to apply.